top of page
Featured Posts

Banana Bread Scones with brown sugar glaze

Banana Bread Scones w/ brown sugar glaze

7.jpg

So I want to try to bring together my love of writing , cooking and advocating for my daughter together in one place. Rather then just post photos on instagram of meals im proud of im going to post them up here. Im no classically tained chef, But I am a real mom who loves good food.

This morning I woke up with a need for somethng amazing and scratch made. I took an inventory of what i had and after some time on pintrest ive adapted my own recipe. This is my first ever attempt at scones and it had changed my life..

if you dont like scones, I dont know that we can be friends, I just want to be honest.

This is my first recipe post: I really hope you guys like the branch out. I want to write about all parts of my life. and besides, who doesnt love good food?!

What you'll need:

1.jpg

2- Large ripe bananas ( about a cup mashed)

4-Tbsp milk

1/2-cup of vanilla greek yogurt

2 1/2- cups all pourpose flour

4 Tbsp granulated sugar

2-tsp Baking Powder

1/2 tspn salt

2 tspn cinnamon

4-Tbsp salted butter

1/2 cup chopped walnuts(optional)

GLAZE:

2 Tbsp butter

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

1/4-1/2 cup confectioners sugar

Tools:

one large mixing bowl

one medium mixing bowl

measuring cup/spoons

fork

dinner plate

parchment paper( i was out and used foil)

sheet pan

pizza cutter or large knife

cooling rack

Step one:

Stir mashed banana, milk, and yougurt in medium mixing bowl.

Step two:

Sift together Flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon into large mixing bowl. Sifting is important.

why?

2.jpg

Because thats why... yuck.

Step 3:

Add the butter to the dry ingredients and using your fork work it into the flour until no pieces bigger then a pea are there.

Step 4:

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix unitl just combined. DO NOT overmix or they will be rubbery. Your going for this consistency:

3.jpg

Step 5:

Get that dinner plate and lay down a piece of parchment (or foil , or even flour like i did below if your out of parchment) and turn your dough out onto the plate. Pat it down into a one inch thick disk.

4.jpg

Cover your dough with your paper or foil and put it in the freezer for 30 min to set.

STEP 6:

PREHEAT OVEN TO 400 and use this time to tidy up. I made the glaze as soon as i was done cleaning up and by the time the scones were out and cooled it was the perfect consistency. So I suggest making the glaze after you put the scones in the freezer but before you put them in the oven. It will set up at room temp and be perfect.

Step 7:

remove dough from freezer after 30 min. Use pizza cutter to cut them into 6 even slices.

** note** there are only five in the finished photo, The batch makes six. Someone, ah'hem (my momma ) couldnt wait to eat one. ..They are just that good**

space them out as best you can on your sheet pan and bake for 25- 30 min until they are golden brown around the edges.

Step 8:

Let them cool COMPLETELY before glazing. This was unquestionably the hardest part for me. good luck to you. be careful you may need to gaurd them or they will disappear before they are glazed! the glaze will likely need a good stir and it should be thick enough to almost be frosting-ish (note how it coats the fork: )

6.jpg

Once cool press the top of each scone firmly into glaze, then take out of glaze turn over and even out the glaze so it coats the entire top. I added walnuts on top because we like them, you could always garnish with a banana chip too( I wish we had some!)

Step 9:

Make a cup of coffee, find a quiet corner and enjoy !!

7.jpg

They will keep a couple of days in a good covered container. I really hope you guys enjoy them as much as we did.

Leave me comments below to let me know how it worked for you!

Any questions? Leave them below aswell !!

I hope everyone enjoys their weekend. I HIGHLY suggest you try theese!

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Follow Us
bottom of page