top of page
Featured Posts

Counting my blessings

While I sit here with Sophia this morning after getting my turkey ready for is trip to yummy town , Im reflecting over this past year...

And I must say I'm damn proud of my team . We have busted out some major goals this year and we are still going strong . It's really easy in the day to day struggle to lose sight of the important things in life. We all do it . But with the path I am walking taking inventory of your gratitude is essential to your mental health . The things I am most grateful for change each year. So here are the top ten reasons I am thankful for 2014. I'll try my best not to get too mushy , but this is me we are taking about .

(Hi , incase we haven't met .. You can call me ms. Emotional..)

1. Sophia's diagnosis :

It might seem crazy for me to be thankful for this . But unless you've had to spend half a year thinking you had less then 5 years with your child ... You probubly won't understand the depth of this for me . Not knowing what was wrong with her was excruciating. It was the single hardest part of the first years of her life . The unknown . Hearing that it's permanent, hearing that it's severe, that it will impact her every day of her lite .. Was life changing , it was soul changing . But I would rather know the truth and learn to walk in this new truth with my little family, then have to sit in the dark of the unknown any day .. And for that oppertunity to learn and grow , I am thankful .

blogger-image--1936251985.jpg

2. My fiancé :

He is the other half of everything I accomplish . He is the unsung hero of our family . He does what needs to be done. He never NEVER misses. A beat with Sophia . He had grown and adapted to be the most fantastic father to our child . I will never be able to properly express how much I appreciate all he has done for us . And the BEAUTIFUL ring I just got from him doesn't hurt 😉 .. Given the things we have faced this far . I am thankful for his stregth and love .

blogger-image--624702348.jpg

3. My teamsophia MVP's :

Namely my mom , sister , and bestie of 20+ years Megan . The ridiculous emotional waters they navigate regularly to ensure my sanity ... Would send most people packing . I'm very lucky to have three strong beautiful diverse women to hold me up always . I NEVER have to question the sincerity or loyalty of any of them . Most people are not that lucky .

4. My handicap parking permit :

Hate me if you want to , but it is literally the one single perk of having a disabled kid . Priority parking . Nothing profound here . It just makes my life and her life SO much easier ...

5. the Make-A-Wish foundation :

The disney world trip that they sent Sophia on was a week of magic and priceless memories for my little family . For seven entire days I got to just be a mom . Not a nurse , pt, ot, coordinator, chef, maid ect . Just a mom , just having fun with her girl . We fed and touched dolphins, met Mickey , ate and shopped without worry . It was exactly what we needed at exactly the right time . I'll never forget it .

.

blogger-image--1189205973.jpg

6. My niece and nephew :

They are the people Sophia will be closest to in this crazy world . My nephew has a heart of gold and my niece already has created a very special bond with Sophia. While they are still so small and innocent it's hard to see , but I can tell they have enough love and stregth to walk along side their cousin through her life . And she will need them . I love them both beyond measure . They are the best and most beautiful parts of my sister.. How could I not ?

blogger-image-766379943.jpg

7. My job :

Although I'm still new and it's not really in my field of study , I'm just so happy to be back in a money making role . I'm glad I can contribute to my financial well being while still bring there in the morning to navigate Sophia's transition to pre k and still be home so sing her to sleep at night . It's a blessing to me , definitely an answered prayer .

8 . Sophia's teacher and 1:1 aid :

They are literally the BEST thing I could have asked for . Sophia is doing do amazingly well in school and they make such a dedicated and specific effort to ensure that she enjoys herself while still making progress . It gives me so much pride to see her happily amunst her peers .

9. Sophia's little posse :

Four specific kids in her class take extra care to be close to her and spend time with her . They try to include her in all of their activities and don't hesitate or see it as odd when she's doing something in a different way . Their innocent and inclusive hearts ... Ohhh how I hope they never change . Sophia and the world need people like that . Bless them .

10. Myself .

I don't want to sound like I'm talking myself up here . So I'll keep it short . But I have grown and grown and grown and hurt and cried and gown some more and then just when I thought I couldn't possibly take another step . I grew some more . It's just that the way my mind , body and spirit are changing and evolving to be able to provide a never ending supply of unconditional love to my child and the people in my life has astounded me . I am beyond thankful for my own resilience , discipline , determination and perseverance.

I really hope that each of you who takes their time and reads this blog , follows our story and cheer Sophia on know you are a member of our team for which I am thankful. It means more then I can say that you are supporting her. Together I hope we can make the world a more grateful place . There's so many reasons to be upset these days . So I am thankful to you all who keep the positive vibes coming out way . Enjoy your day , bless you all and your families ...

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Follow Us
bottom of page