top of page
Featured Posts

Pregnancy and The delivery

I still remember exactly the way it felt when she moved inside my belly for the first time. I was at work (as a bagel maker) and I was making the rounds with the coffee pot. I turned the corner to go into the kitchen and BOOM clear as a lightning strike I felt her kick..... The whole world stopped and I froze dead in my tracks ( dropping and smashing the coffee pot ) . Tears immediately flowed from my eyes and I have never felt alone a day since .. I've always been a hopeless romantic but I never knew love could be so all consuming until the day I felt that I wasn't alone in the world, that I had a little life to grow and protect. How someone so small can make your heart grow to be so big still amazes me. Sophia Krystina Soto was born on a chilly April afternoon at 3:41 after six hour of pretty easy labor (4cm dilated for two weeks and epidural 45 min after being admitted) she was a healthy 7 pounds. she came into the world a day after her due date with no complications got a great apgar score and breast fed within an hour of delivery also without any issues. I was on cloud 9 (for the first and last time in my life).This little bump I had been carrying around with me and talking and singing to was in my arms looking right at my face. I've never been to heaven and I've never witnessed Devine intervention. But I will say looking back in that moment when I looked into her face for the first time It felt like god had placed his hand on my soul and transferred to me strength, fierce determination and perseverance. The nurses and doctors all congratulated me on such an amazing delivery, one nurse said it was the easiest she's done. I later said to my mother " who knows, I've never been good at anything ever a day in my life.... Maybe I'm ment to be a mom, like maybe that's what I'm good at" little did I know how hard I had hit the nail head with that one... They later whisked her away for all the stuff they do in the nursery. It was then that she failed the hearing screen in her right ear. I was told not to worry that this is fairly common with babies who are delivered quickly. Something about secretions and not being squeezed long enough in the birth canal. We were discharged on time and told to follow up with our pedi. Our first 3 months passed in a blur of sleepless nights and baby vomit. She continued to "refer" aka fail her hearing screens and I was told we needed to see a pediatric audiologist. And that is when all hell broke lose . ....That covers months 0-3 I'm going to try to put the entire medical backstory up. It will take a few days. This was the easiest and least emotional part . Again thanks for reading our story!!Peace love and mickey K*


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Follow Us
bottom of page